Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban sign landmark urban tourism alliance

In recognition of the increasing role that cities are playing in drawing tourists, both for leisure, business and study, South Africa’s 3 major cities, Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban have signed a landmark urban tourism alliance.

Gone are the days of solely relying on beauty, and safari jingles, the South African tourism industry is growing up and embracing the urban energy, which put these three cities centre-stage during and after the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Cities are often described by the CEO of Cape Town Tourism, Mariette du Toit Helmbold, as the prism or lens through which countries are viewed, and these three urban African cities, each unique in their own regard, offer a world within 3 cities.

Durban, a fusion between the East and the Zulu Kingdom, South Africa’s port city, and a melting pot of cultures and flavours. Johannesburg, the undisputed economic giant of the continent, fast paced, and embracing its role as the heartbeat of South Africa. And Cape Town, majestically beautiful, a centre for innovation, inspiration and creative freedom.

Sunday, May 13, 2012, heralded the official signing of the Three Cities Alliance agreement between Cape Town Tourism, Durban Tourism and Johannesburg Tourism.

The Three Cities Alliance sees Cape Town Tourism, Durban Tourism and Johannesburg Tourism putting their combined resources into a national partnership in order to promote the urban tourism offerings of South Africa. The Three Cities agreement introduces a new age for collaboration on domestic and international marketing campaigns, information distribution, marketing collateral and online campaigns, events and trade shows, as well as shared knowledge on an executive level. In terms of domestic marketing, the three cities will collaborate to leverage local events and align events calendars where possible, promoting each other’s events and short city break packages.

Read the full press release at the Cape Town Tourism website